ARC Review | #famous by Jilly Gagnon

25116429

Title: #famous
Author: Jilly Gagnon
Publication: February 14th 2017 by Katherine Tegen Books
Format: Advance Reading Copy
Source: Provided by the publisher via Edelweiss
ISBN: 9780062430038

How Hard Can Love Be? (Normal, #2)


synopsisIn this modern-day love story, Girl likes Boy, Girl takes photo of Boy and posts it online, Boy becomes accidentally insta-famous. And what starts out as an innocent joke spirals into a whirlwind adventure that could change both their lives—and their hearts—forever. But are fame and love worth the price?

Told in alternating points of view, #famous captures the out-of-control thrill ride of falling for someone in front of everyone.


review

I received an ARC of this book from HarperCollins via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. By no means have my review been affected and/or influenced.
Let me begin by telling you that you must read this book for your dear life. #famous is just totally adorbs that I’m literally at a lost for words with it’s charm and pure adorableness that I even suffered a serious book hangover with this beauty.

With it’s modern day set-up, it wasn’t hard to relate to #famous and it’s narrators – Kyle and Rachel. There’s an instant connection that’s built between the reader and the book that pulls you like a magnet. It’s particularly realistic too but still with a hint of fantasy which gives a sense of fulfillment when it comes to our own imaginations.

The synopsis tells you this much but there’s a lot more when you read it. Not only does it deal with the “cutesy” content but also goes a little deeper. It deals with bullying, friendship, relationships and more. I can say that I haven’t read anything like this before. It’s entertaining which I can’t emphasize enough. You just have to read it!

Ms. Jilly’s beautiful storytelling also made #famous an easy and quick read. It’s never boring and slow-paced, everything that’s happening is kept interesting. It’s evident that both the plot and the characters had been equally given much attention.

And speaking of characters, Rachel and Kyle are these two different persons that has an undeniable chemistry. Rachel is your typical awkward teenager with her own weird and quirk (which I totally love) while Kyle is this charming teen that girls drool over, he can also be a bit insensitive at times but he’s nice. #famous did a good job in showing the character’s development throughout the story.

#famous is #relatable, #realistic, and #charming. It will automatically go to your list of favorite books and I solemnly swear, you won’t get tired of reading it over and over again.

Rating:

5stars


whatiliked
  • Rachel’s monologue – Not only Rachel and her personality captivated me throughout my reading experience but it’s also her internal banters that kept me LOLing.
Oh dear god, someone take this shovel away from me so I can stop digging my own fricking grave.
  • Kyle’s charm – No wonder Rachel has a crush on Kyle, he’s uber cute and swoon worthy. Although there were times that he was being a “tool” without realizing it, but it just shows how real he is. He’s cute and nice, a bit naive which makes him my #bookboyfriendgoals
  • Serious stuff – When Rachel was going through tough times, she can’t help but feel bad about herself. Rachel is everyone of us, and how she dealt with what she’s giong through is very inspiring.
I was fat, I was ugly, I was pathetic and deluded. Not like I’d never thought those things, but seeing other people say them almost made me vomit. It made them feel true.
No one seemed to think I was a waste of valuable oxygen. Nobody thought I was pathetic—if anything, people were openly jealous. No one even called me fat. One girl said I was curvy, but that’s good fat. Kyle was right. There wasn’t a single mean thought in the bunch. Even if there had been, I felt like I could have handled it. It felt less important. It was dumb that I still cared so much; it’s not like I didn’t know the people last week were trolls. But it still felt good that people were saying I was good enough—to be seen, and with Kyle no less. I thought

end
Book description and cover image from Goodreads
One thought on “ARC Review | #famous by Jilly Gagnon

Leave a Reply

