ARC Review | What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne

29740718Title: What’s A Girl Gotta Do? (The Spinster Club #3)
Author: Holly Bourne
Publication: August 1st 2016 by Usborne Publishing
Format: Advance Reading Copy
Source: Provided by the publisher
ISBN: 9781474915021

How Hard Can Love Be? (Normal, #2)


synopsis

HOW TO START A FEMINIST REVOLUTION:
1. Call out anything that is unfair on one gender
2. Don’t call out the same thing twice (so you can sleep and breathe)
3. Always try to keep it funny
4. Don’t let anything slide. Even when you start to break…
Lottie’s determined to change the world with her #Vagilante vlog. Shame the trolls have other ideas…

review

I received an ARC of this book from Usborne in exchange for an honest review. By no means have my review been affected and/or influenced.
What’s a girl gotta say? Well, for starters, I’ve only read the 2nd book in the series prior to reading What’s A Girl Gotta Do? and so I’m not typically familiar with how the Spinster Club started.. Although it can be read as a standalone, I think it’s best to read Am I Normal Yet? and How Hard Can Love Be? first not just for continuity’s sake but also for character familiarity. With the being said, I have mixed feelings with this one.
The series introduced 3 girls going through different personal battles. Evie in Am I Normal Yet? struggled with OCD. In How Hard Can Love Be?, Amber dealt with her mother’s abandonment. This time, the spotlight is on Lottie. Lottie and her fight against sexism.
Lottie came to me as a strong, even aggressive, character. Her personality did affect mostly how things turned out in the story. When she was sexually assaulted on the way to college, an idea came to her to start a project where she calls out every sexist things she sees. It’s a great idea to raise awareness about gender equality but I’m not really fan of the execution. I guess it’s the cultural difference though. In my perspective, Lottie took a lot of “sexist?” things WAY TOO FAR. And way angsty which made connecting with her a lot harder. I could be a character in this book though, one of the lookers, maybe. Or someone who’s curious about FemSoc but never really joins? But not the trolls. Definitely not the trolls.
The pacing was a tiny bit low for me and I don’t really know which part is the climax because almost the entire book is just Lottie pointing out sexist things, arguing with her parents, arguing-flirting with Will, worrying-but-not-really about her Cambridge interview. The writing style is a different story. It’s very straight-forward and strong. It’s uncomplicated, realistic and coherent for young readers.
Anyway, speaking of Will… the romance was bleh! I mean, Will is really attractive but and all that, even if he’s some kind of whatever, there was no chemistry between him and Lottie. Sexual tension? LOL. Lottie no. I remember reading a part where *THIS IS A SPOILER.* Highlight with cursor to view >> Lottie and Will were arguing about how Lottie called out a waiter for handing the bill to Will instead of her even if she’s not the one paying. She called him a pr*ck, he called her a b*tch. Then they’re kissing.*END OF SPOILER* Was that supposed to be romantic? Was that for real. My eyebrows literally furrowed in confusion and I just cringed. HAHA.
However, I did like how real the level of friendship in this book is. Evie and Amber are always there for Lottie. There are times where they argue but like a true friend, they always have each others back. There’s also Megan’s storyline which I think was really interesting. I really appreciate her character and her bravery.
To be fair, What’s A Girl Gotta Do? is an eye-opening read. It raises awareness especially on things that’s going on around us that we don’t even realize are sexist. Or even the things we already know are unfair to one gender but we decide to accept it the way it is just because.
Rating:

3


whatiliked
  • Evie, Amber and Lottie’s friendship – #bffgoals
  • Covergasm – I just love all the covers of the books in the series and What’s A Girl Gotta Do?’s cover is not an exception. I love how it’s coordinated with the story.
  • A Novella – …And a Happy New Year? is coming in November! Can’t wait!!

end

 

 

Book description and cover image from Goodreads
Leave a Reply

