Book Review | Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

26365537Title: Kindred Spirits
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Publication: February 25th 2016 by Macmillans Children’s Books
Format: Finished copy/Paperback, World Book Day Edition 2016
Source: Life and Other Disasters Giveaway
ISBN: 9781509820832
Are You Still There

synopsis‘Everybody likes everything these days. The whole world is a nerd.’
‘Are you mad because other people like Star Wars? Are you mad because people like me like Star Wars?’
‘Maybe.’
If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does. What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels. Kindred Spirits is an engaging short story by Rainbow Rowell, author of the bestselling Eleanor & Park, Fangirl and Carry On, and is part of a handful of selected short reads specially produced for World Book Day.

review

When I heard that there’s a new Rainbow Rowell book coming out for World Book Day 2016, I just knew that I have to get my hands on a copy. I absolutely loved Rowell’s Fangirl, and Eleanor & Park is one of my ultimate favorites and will forever be a book that’s close to my heart. With that being said, I was really expecting a whole lot from this book.
Kindred Spirits is a cute short story about Elena and her experience camping outside the cinema for 4 days for the new Star Wars movie. It’s actually too short of a story that all it took me to finish this book was the time I spent while waiting in line to vote for the national elections. Honestly speaking, I really enjoyed reading this book. It’s from a point of view of a fangirl so I was really able to relate to the character. Although, there were times that I was annoyed with Elena because of her stubbornness but that isn’t a reason enough to not like her character.
I love that it showed how camp outs really happen. It’s not just fun but a lot of discomfort too. This book did justice to how people can be too dedicated to a certain fandom.
All in all, Kindred Spirits is a book worth reading. I guarantee that you’ll ask for more + that plot twist in the end. 😉
Rating:

3h


whatiliked

  • Simply entertaining -It’s a quick and simple read but purely entertaining. There weren’t a lot of characters and the setting was just the streets but that’s already enough for Ms. Rainbow and her words to make such a good read.
  • Fangirl connection – Everyone who loved Fangirl will love this book.
  • Plot twist – TOTALLY UNEXPECTED and HILARIOUS. I don’t know why but I still can’t get over it. 😛

end
Book description and cover image from Goodreads
10 thoughts on “Book Review | Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

    1. I’m not into Star Wars too LOL but you don’t have to like Star Wars to like this book! 😉 And yes, it truly is cute (literally and figuratively) haha didn’t expect the book to be so tiny too.

      Like

  1. I don’t know if you are aware of this, but I experienced camping out for book signing events in the past as well! It was absolutely uncomfortable, but being with some of your friends make it a little more worthwhile! I didn’t know Kindred Spirits was about camping out! I’ll definitely check it out! 🙂 Great review as always, Bea! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

