ARC Review | Not Okay, Cupid by Heidi R. Kling

28356550Title: Not Okay, Cupid
Author: Heidi R. Kling
Publication: January 11th 2016 by Entangled: Crush
Format: Advance Reading Copy
Source: Provided by the publisher via NetGalley
ISBN: 9781633755253

Not Okay Cupid


synopsisHer wicked revenge, or his wicked heart…
Hazel McCallister loves her life. Perfect grades. Perfect best friend. Perfect boyfriend. Until her perfect boyfriend cheats on her with her perfect best friend. Now Hazel’s in free fall—until her best friend’s brother, Felix, gives her the perfect idea. Reclaim her power by taking revenge on her cheating ex.
Felix James loves his life. Casual relationships. Loads of surfing. He’s as drama-free as they come. But he can’t stand by when his sister steals her best friend’s boyfriend, and the dude insists it was Hazel’s fault. So Felix vows to help turn Hazel into a girl her ex can’t resist—so then she can break his heart.
With an alliance in place, Hazel’s revenge is all but assured. But with each piece of payback, she feels a stronger attraction to Felix, even though revenge will turn her into a girl Felix could never be with. And soon Hazel has to make an impossible choice: revenge…or Felix, the boy who’s stolen her heart.
WARNING! This book contains betrayal, revenge, and that most tempting vice of all, the bad boy you know you can’t have.

review

I received a digital ARC of this book from Entangled Publishing, LLC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. By no means have my review been affected and/or influenced.
Not Okay? Yeah. It isn’t. This book is barely okay.
Hazel has had her future planned out for her and her boyfriend, but when she finds out that her boyfriend was cheating on her with her best friend, everything falls apart. *insert eye roll gif here* Okay, not really everything, but you get the idea. Enter Felix James, said (ex) best friend’s brother and hero to the rescue. Felix has the perfect plan, what better way to heal a broken heart than to get even?
Stretch that whole synopsis, insert silly nonsense in between and add a cheesy (and foreseeable)  ending to conclude everything, and there you have it. Here’s Not Okay, Cupid for you.
First of all, everything was way too fast. Reading the book felt like I started right in the middle. There was no build up and it basically lacked in the back story department. The Cupid and Psyche reference in the first few chapters was also something I didn’t get so I won’t go over that. Moreover, I noticed how this book is very high school but not really. I mean, the setting was in high school, the characters were in high school but they act like they’re in their pre-teens. There were a lot of high school cliches as well or more like how high schooler’s are portrayed in books that I don’t even know if what real high school is like anymore.
Anyway, let’s talk about the characters. Hazel, the main character I never liked. She’s whiny and self-centered. I just couldn’t sympathize to her at all. Well, maybe just a little. I’m on her side every time Jay and Kimmy’s cheating asses were present. Speaking of Kimmy, the boyfriend thief slash ex-bestfriend, I was expecting someone that I would really hate. The book did warn me in bold text how it contains betrayal and whatnot but Kimmy… she’s just pathetic. It was one of the reasons why it was difficult to sympathize with Hazel. She’s way better than Kimmy, and Jay is just a jerk, it’s not like she lost such a great asset. But of course, cheating is cheating and with Hazel’s situation, it’s pretty terrible but I just couldn’t get myself to feels sorry for her. (I’m not saying it’s her fault, though.)
And Felix, he doesn’t strike me as a bad boy like the book says he is. He’s more like someone who’s on the contrary just to be “cool”. He sleeps around, common bad boy description. But the bad boy aura? There were none. That’s why I find it absurd that the revenge/make Jay jealous suggestion came from him. He even has a nickname for Hazel. How cute… NOT. But the thing that really irks me the most is how Felix sounds like a girl. He sounds like Hazel. Not good at all.
I did enjoy some parts especially with Hazel and Felix’s silly banters. But the rest is just fluff that didn’t work on me. Not to mention that the narration was too”talky” making me skim a whole lot of pages until I reach the last parts. And like I said, the ending was predictable. It wasn’t something I haven’t read before.
Honestly, I was looking forward to reading this book. I was looking forward to the romance but Felix and Hazel just lacked chemistry. I also wanted to see more of the “revenge” plot, I always wanted justice for characters who are unjustly treated but I wasn’t satisfied with how things went down with Not Okay, Cupid.
Rating:2

end
Book Description and Cover Image from Goodreads
18 thoughts on “ARC Review | Not Okay, Cupid by Heidi R. Kling

    1. HAHA. Dodged a bullet. I actually feel bad to actually “not recommend” a book so I guess I’m just gonna think it really depends on the taste of the reader. Do you like light contemporaries? Fluffy ones?

      And thanks for dropping by! 😀

      Like

    1. I actually didn’t notice. (Not really that interested in Felix) but then I checked again, it says they were glacier blue, then became chocolate brown? But since it’s an ARC it could still be uncorrected. But like you said, it made it look inconsistent so that’s really bothersome. Thanks for checking out my review! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I never actually liked the cover…. Lol, I’m so judgmental.

    Anyways, this sounds like my worst nightmare if there’s a lack of chemistry and whiny main character – ESPECIALLY the whiny main character. It also sounds like a stereotypical high school setting.

    I guess I won’t be giving Not Okay, Cupid a second glance. O.o

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow this book sounds truly awful, its initial premise is giving me flashbacks to Maybe Someday – which I did not enjoy at all. Thanks for the honest review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

