Book Review | The Trouble with Destiny by Lauren Morrill

18982137Title: The Trouble with Destiny
Author: Lauren Morrill
Publication:  December 8th 2015 by Delacorte Press
Format: Finished copy/Hardback
Source: Provided by the publisher
ISBN: 9780553497977

The Trouble with Destiny


synopsisIt’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey…
With her trusty baton and six insanely organized clipboards, drum major Liza Sanders is about to take Destiny by storm—the boat, that is. When Liza discovered that her beloved band was losing funding, she found Destiny, a luxury cruise ship complete with pools, midnight chocolate buffets, and a $25,000 spring break talent show prize.
Liza can’t imagine senior year without the band, and nothing will distract her from achieving victory. She’s therefore not interested when her old camp crush, Lenny, shows up on board, looking shockingly hipster-hot. And she’s especially not interested in Russ, the probably-as-dumb-as-he-is-cute prankster jock whose ex, Demi, happens be Liza’s ex–best friend and leader of the Athenas, a show choir that’s the band’s greatest competition.
But it’s not going to be smooth sailing. After the Destiny breaks down, all of Liza’s best-laid plans start to go awry. Liza likes to think of herself as an expert at almost everything, but when it comes to love, she’s about to find herself lost at sea.

reviewI received a finished copy of this book from Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review. By no means have my review been affected and/or influenced.
I was all aboard for yet another fun, light, swoon-y read when I found out earlier this year that Lauren Morrill has a new book coming out.  Morrill’s Meant To Be is one of my favorite books of all time so I have always been on the look out for her next projects.
My excitement for The Trouble with Destiny is undeniable. I was devouring every word and turning page after page. But then, I started to notice something with what I was reading. The characters seem familiar, especially Lenny and Russ.
As I’ve mentioned earlier, Meant To Be is a favorite of mine so I can’t help but notice how similar the characters from the 2 books are (And I don’t see it as a good thing).  If you’ve read MTB, Lenny here is the Mark of that book, in other words, the protagonist’s dream guy. He’s cute and all that but turns out to be something else. Then we have Russ, now, he’s the Jason Lippincott of TTWD; naughty and adorkable, and of course, the main character couldn’t stand him but also can’t deny he’s quite charming too. With these similarities, it affected the way the story went and came as predictable in the romance aspect.
But with MTB being uber cute and had me elated all throughout, The Trouble with Destiny lacked that effect on me. It wasn’t that I didn’t enjoy this book. I did, but not as much as I’ve expected. It just had  a lot of things going on. With Liza and the competition, Liza and her ex-best friend drama, Liza and her boy trouble. All of them was as big a conflict as the other making the book drag a bit and me clueless where it was heading and I was basically looking for the bit where destiny is involved.
What I did enjoy are those moments that you would read in a Lauren Morrill book. There were times that I just found myself smiling and chuckling. If only I weren’t mentally comparing this book to the author’s first novel, I would have rated it higher.
Overall, The Trouble with Destiny is an okay book. It’s something you would pick up if you’re looking for a light contemporary that is not all romance but fun and quirky as well.
Rating:

3


whatiliked

  • Liza – Okay, she really isn’t a likeable character to begin with. She’s as straight as a line, a control freak and extremely bossy. But what I liked about her is her fighting spirit. She’s used to being second best to her ex-best friend, Demi but when it comes to her dreams, she wouldn’t settle for that and aims for the win.
  • Confrontation between Liza and Demi – I won’t spoil but I really like a part in this scene where we get to hear Demi’s side and why they drifted apart. Reading from the main character’s POV, we only get to see how a character is based on the narrator’s judgment but this scene gave the readers a chance to see beyond what is being told by the narrator.
  • Swoon-y moments – Honestly speaking, this book didn’t have enough of that BUT the amount of swoon in the scenes were it is present still made me giddy.

end
Book Description and Cover Image from Goodreads

5 thoughts on “Book Review | The Trouble with Destiny by Lauren Morrill

  1. I downloaded this one from NG months and months ago, but I kept putting it off. I was so upset when I finally read it because I was expecting this great book, and it was just meh. I think me being a teacher and seeing all the mistakes really messed it up for me too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

