Blog Tour | Trust Me, I’m Trouble by Mary Elizabeth Summer [Book Review + Official Dream Cast + Giveaway]

Untitled-8Untitled-8Title: Trust Me, I’m Trouble
Author: Mary Elizabeth Summer
Publication: October 13th 2015 by Delacorte Press
Format: Advance Reading Copy
Source: Provided by the publisger via NetGalley
ISBN: 9780385744140

How Hard Can Love Be? (Normal, #2)


synopsisStaying out of trouble isn’t possible for Julep Dupree. She has managed not to get kicked out of her private school, even though everyone knows she’s responsible for taking down a human-trafficking mob boss—and getting St. Agatha’s golden-boy Tyler killed in the process. Running cons holds her guilty conscience at bay, but unfortunately, someone wants Julep to pay for her mistakes . . . with her life.
Against her better judgment, Julep takes a shady case that requires her to infiltrate a secretive organization that her long-gone mother and the enigmatic blue fairy may be connected to. Her best friend, Sam, isn’t around to stop her, and Dani, her one true confidante, happens to be a nineteen-year-old mob enforcer whose moral compass is as questionable as Julep’s. But there’s not much time to worry about right and wrong—or to save your falling heart—when there’s a contract on your head.
Murders, heists, secrets and lies, hit men and hidden identities . . . If Julep doesn’t watch her back, it’s her funeral. No lie.

review

I received a digital review copy of this book from Random House Children’s via NetGalley for my participation in the blog tour. By no means have my review been affected and/or influenced.
OMG!!!!! WORDS MY CAN’T FIND I— Trust Me, I’m Trouble just put the series to a whole new level and I’m still hyped after reading it! More plot twists, more romance, more everything!
Months after the events from Trust Me, I’m Lying, we’re taken back to Julep’s world of grifting. With Sam gone to military school, Julep sets up a PI firm with Murphy as her minion. When a client walks in and asks her to investigate an organization called New World Initiatives, she is asked to be a find the “blue fairy”. Julep thinks coincidence doesn’t exist but the blue fairy seems to be related to her mother.
I have to say, this book is seriously unputdownable. Everything is interesting from the first page down to the last. Especially the last! But before I talk about that, let me talk about the plot first. Trust Me, I’m Trouble is a book with a thick layer of plot twists. A lot of surprises that I didn’t see coming, a lot of mystery that unravels itself in a way you wouldn’t expect and how everything seem connected is just wow. I really commend the author’s way of plotting how the whole story would go.
Then we have the characters, we’ve seen them in the first book but in TMIT, you get to see more. You can see Julep’s development from who she was in TMIL and who she is now. You can see her struggles and guilt which makes her more of a strong character. I also have to mention that the racially diverse characters are evident and I love that they have major roles in the story.
Another thing is the romance. It took a shift in a way I wasn’t expecting. At first when I noticed Julep acting “weird” I kind of sensed where it was headed and when it was confirmed that it took that direction, my heart broke a little *spoiler: highlight with cursor to view* for Sam but, I still found myself grinning whenever Julep can’t control her feels LOL.
And before I forget… that ending. Please, tell me there’s a third book. Is there? I NEED MORE!!!
I would honestly put this on my “Books I recommend” list and you should add it on your TBR, pronto.
Rating:

4


OFFICIAL DREAM CAST
(by Mary Elizabeth Summer)

dream cast ME

For me, dream casting my book is hugely difficult. I’m not one of those authors who has an actor in mind from the beginning and bases all descriptions off that person. I’m much more likely to troll Google images for a likely looking model. My Pinterest page for the Trust Me series gives a much better feel for how I see my characters.
I think I find it difficult to place actors into my stories, because I’m too hung up on the actors I see in TV and movies being the characters they portray. If I really like an actor, I probably really like the character they play, too, so the last thing I want to do is cut them out of that role and shoe-horn them into one of my characters. It kind of ruins the magic for me.
So of all the actors in the image above, I’ve only seen one of them act. Crystal Reed (the actress I picked for Julep) was amazing as Alison in Teen Wolf. She took a character I cared absolutely nothing about in the first season, and made her into a kickass, complicated hero I fell head over heels for. I’d love to see what she could do with Julep.
The other actors I honestly know nothing about, other than they look the part. The only tiny exception is that Mike is bald. So imagine Misha Collins without hair, and you’d get a pretty close approximation of Mike.
I’d also like to go on record as saying that I picked Ruby Rose for Dani years before Orange Is the New Black was ever even a show. So. Yeah. I saw her first. *narrows eyes*
I’m sure you all have your own ideas as to who could play the Trust Me characters. Let us know in the comments who you’d pick!

GIVEAWAY TIME!giveaway (4)
Win a SIGNED copy of Trust Me, I’m Trouble by Mary Elizabeth Summer!

Follow the Tour!
TRUST ME, I'M TROUBLE
This blog post is part of the
Trust Me, I’m Trouble Blog Tour hosted by
The Fantastic Flying Book Club.
Click the tour banner for the complete tour schedule.
Thanks for stopping by! ❤
One thought on “Blog Tour | Trust Me, I’m Trouble by Mary Elizabeth Summer [Book Review + Official Dream Cast + Giveaway]

Leave a Reply

