Book Review: Trust Me, I’m Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer

17341550Title: Trust Me, I’m Lying
Author: Mary Elizabeth Summer
Publication: October 14th 2014 by Delacorte Press
Format: Hardback
Pages: 336
Source: Finished copy from the Author

Synopsis: Julep Dupree tells lies. A lot of them. She’s a con artist, a master of disguise, and a sophomore at Chicago’s swanky St. Agatha High, where her father, an old-school grifter with a weakness for the ponies, sends her to so she can learn to mingle with the upper crust. For extra spending money Julep doesn’t rely on her dad—she runs petty scams for her classmates while dodging the dean of students and maintaining an A+ (okay, A-) average.

But when she comes home one day to a ransacked apartment and her father gone, Julep’s carefully laid plans for an expenses-paid golden ticket to Yale start to unravel. Even with help from St. Agatha’s resident Prince Charming, Tyler Richland, and her loyal hacker sidekick, Sam, Julep struggles to trace her dad’s trail of clues through a maze of creepy stalkers, hit attempts, family secrets, and worse, the threat of foster care. With everything she has at stake, Julep’s in way over her head . . . but that’s not going to stop her from using every trick in the book to find her dad before his mark finds her. Because that would be criminal.

review

I received a finished copy of this book from Mary Elizabeth Summer in exchange for an honest review. By no means have my review been affected and/or influenced.

One day, Julep comes home to discover that her apartment has been trashed and that her father is gone. As she rummages through what’s left of their apartment, she discovers that her father left her a message through a series of clues that she must decode to solve the mystery of his disappearance.

Trust Me, I’m Lying is a book that will never bore you. Every chapter is action-packed. I may or may not be talking about punching and kicking and gun shooting (maybe) but every page is just so dynamic! Not your thing? Worry not! TMIL will give you more!

First of all, we have Julep. She isn’t your typical YA heroine. Ok, maybe sometimes when it comes to the romance aspect but, her character pure charisma. A teen con artist extraordinaire? It may sound over the top especially with how she can manipulate almost everything but she just makes it natural and believable.

There is also an existing, uhm, wait, no. There was an existing romance in this book. *spoiler hint* It was kind of a love triangle actually. It was obvious from the start that Sam was into her best friend but Julep was more focused on breaking the law finding out what happened with her father but along the way, she meets Tyler who’s willing to risk anything just to help her.

I actually didn’t buy the romance between Tyler and Julep for one reason: I like Sam better!

I honestly would love to see Trust Me, I’m Lying in live action. The author’s writing was already very vivid. It was as if I get front seat tickets to what’s happening in the book especially the scenes that kept me on my toes.

This quick-paced read will surely entertain you. Make sure to read Trust Me, I’m, Lying and follow through the series. Yes, there’s a sequel!

whatilove5

 

  • Julep – I’ve mentioned it before but I’m gonna say it again. Julep is not your typical MC. Her character is the type of character that is her own type. Do you know what I mean? Never mind. I just really like her character.
  • Title – If I get to ask the author one question, I’d ask her how she came up with this book’s witty title. I just love the paradox and it has great recall. It kept me in deep actually. LOL.
  • Unsolved Mysteries – There were still some questions left unanswered. I’m not really a fan of cliffhangers but;
  • There’s a sequel! – Trust Me, I’m Trouble comes out October 13, 2015!

Rating:
4

Follow my reviews on Goodreads!


Add this book on Goodreads

Trust Me, I'm Lying (Trust Me, #1)

Book Description and Cover Image from Goodreads

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Trust Me, I’m Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer

  1. I want to read this so bad! I’m glad it got a good review because I felt this was the type of book that could be well done or just plain terrible. The cover is gorgeous but sometimes that seems to be the trap is the poorly written books nowadays. Also, yay sequel!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

