ARC Review | Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431Title: Everything, Everything
Author: Nicola Yoon
Publication: September 1st 2015 by Delacorte Press
Format: Advance Reading Copy
Source: Provided by the publisher via NetGalley
ISBN: 9780553496642

Everything, Everything


synopsisMy disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.
Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

reviewI received a digital ARC of this book from Random House Children’s via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. By no means have my review been affected and/or influenced.
Before everything else, I just want everyone who is reading this to scroll back up again a little and stare at that beautiful, beautiful cover. Ok, that’s enough. Eyes back here again. What you’ve just seen is the definition of covergasm. I’d honestly buy this book solely for it’s cover. But beyond the eye-candy cover, written is a story so beautiful, I can’t find the perfect words to describe it.
Madeline suffers from Severe Combined Immunodeficiency Disease or SCID. In simpler terms, her immune system is weak, which makes her allergic to almost everything. She can’t leave their house. Everything in close proximity has to be disinfected and she has to be monitored regularly. She only gets to interact with a handful of people, including her physician mother and her nurse, Carla. It is a complicated and uncommon situation but she managed to live through it all.
Then comes the new neighbor with that glorious Bundt cake, knocking at their door. Adorkable Olly wants to be friends with the girl by the window who seems to be watching him and his family. But how will it be possible with Madeline’s situation?
I was really curious with how this story would go. When I came across this book on Goodreads, my mind won’t stop asking, “How?” that I immediately made a mental note that I have need to read this book.
And that was the best judgment I made.
Everything, Everything is in many ways different. It has short and quick chapters, with a small world setting (Maddy’s house, duh.) Even the writing style is unconventional. I particularly enjoyed the hand written entries, the emails between Maddy and Olly, the cute illustrations and Maddy’s spoiler [book] reviews that are very clever!
This book is my cup of tea. (Even if I don’t drink tea, it still is!!!) It isn’t perfect but you’ll tend to overlook it’s flaws because of how extraordinarily wonderful it is. This book will not only be a 2015 favorite, it’ll definitely be an all time favorite of mine!
Fact #1: The title of this book is an answer to a question.
  • The Question: What will I love about this book?
  • The Answer: Everything, Everything.
Fact #2: I just made up Fact #1.
Fact #3: But it’s still true.
Fact #4: I love this book.
Rating:

5stars


whatiliked

  • Maddy – Innocent, pure, a risk taker… Maddy is an inspiring MC. She did courageous things I’m too afraid to do. Her innocence was captivating.
  • Olly – Charming, Adorable, Funny… SWOON. He is the reason why butterflies took residence in Maddy’s stomach.
  • Short chapters – Don’t be surprised if you see how many chapters this book have. It only has 137 (I counted) chapters! No big deal! But, seriously, I finished this book in no time because it made the pacing and continuity quick. Not to mention the witty chapter titles!
  • Illustrations – I really enjoy books with drawings. Word.
  • Cover – Haven’t I mentioned this before? Oh, right.
  • Everything.

end
Book description and cover image from Goodreads
22 thoughts on “ARC Review | Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. This book sounds like a fantastic read! I cannot imaging living through what the Maddy does day in day out but I’m glad this type of disease is getting recognition as I had never heard of it before. The romance sounds adorable and I really can’t wait to dive into this book and enjoy every minute!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. TRUUUUUUUEEEE! This is one of my 2015 favorites. Cute and fluffy story + unusual writing style + witty narrator + gorgeous cover + amazing illustrations = PERFECTION! ❤ I wouldn't get tired reading it over and over again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

