ARC Review | Hide and Seek by Jane Casey

9781250040671Title: Hide and Seek (Jess Tenant #3)
Author: Jane Casey
Publication: August 25th 2015 by St. Martin’s Griffin
Format: Advance Reading Copy
Source: Provided by the publisher via NetGalley
ISBN: 9781250040671

Hide and Seek


synopsisIf I hadn’t walked into the room at that moment, maybe everything would have worked out differently. Maybe everything would have been all right after all . . .’
Port Sentinel may be a beautiful seaside tourist trap, but in the short time Jess Tennant has lived there, it has seen its fair share of tragedy. Tragedy that somehow Jess keeps getting caught up in.
A schoolgirl from the town goes missing, leaving her diary behind and a lot of unanswered questions. Has she run away from her unhappy home or is there something much more sinister going on? And can Jess find her before it’s too late?

reviewI received a Digital ARC of this book from St. Martin’s Press via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. By no means have my review been affected and/or influenced.
When a book is in the YA Mystery genre, I automatically put my nose on to it. So, upon reading Hide and Seek, I’ve only realized that it is a part of a series when I turned to the last page and looked it up on Goodreads! I was totally clueless that there were 2 books prior to this. And what I really find impressive is that I didn’t feel lost at all. But I’m not suggesting that you don’t have to read How To Fall and Bet Your Life (I’m actually dying to read them)! I just think that it shows how engaging this book is, especially the narrative.
Hide and Seek is narrated in the POV of Jess, the main character. She’s the type of girl who’s very curious and likes to “stick her nose where it doesn’t belong”. So when a girl from her school goes missing, she can’t help but feel the need to look for her. Even doing things that the police are in charge to do.
Jess is a sensible character, which is one of the things that I like about this book. Her thoughts and lines had me hooked right from the first chapter. The way she thinks and speaks is exactly the way I would want to read from.
I also liked how the readers are brought in to the setting. The descriptions were vivid in a show, don’t tell kind of way and it wasn’t just the setting that was told in that approach, most of the book used an imaginative construction of words.
In terms of the plot, I was expecting it to be cryptic, just like a typical mystery read and it was indeed. But, Hide and Seek is not all mystery. It wasn’t just about a missing girl. It’s not like all Jess did in the book was to break into houses and look for clues. The story also revolved around her relationship with Will Henderson and some family issue; issues I believe that were already present in the previous book if I’m not mistaken.
But focusing on the mystery (which I think was clever), I really commend how Hide and Seek kept me guessing. There were a lot of assumptions of what happened that makes a lot of suspects and I really can’t tell who did what until the part where the clue was a little bit of a giveaway, which is why I wasn’t surprised with the twist.
But overall, Hide and Seek is a great mystery read, especially for lovers of the genre with a bonus swoon-worthy romance.
Rating:

4


whatiliked

  • Narrative- Jess’s narration is very compelling. I surely have mentioned that already, haven’t I?
  • Romance – OMG. If this is the 3rd book already and it still made me swoon, I surely missed A LOT in the first 2 books! Jess and Will’s relationship wasn’t perfect. It’s not the type of romance where the main character and the love interest are just crazy about each other, there were surely ups and downs to it but it made me feel the depth of their relationship and how serious it was. I SHIP.
  • Characters – I love how Ms. Casey involved the other characters in the story. It’s not just about Jess. Other characters exists too! Her cousins, her mom, her dad, Will’s dad, Will’s mom, her best friend and almost the whole neighborhood.

end
Book description from Goodreads, cover image from Macmillan

 

2 thoughts on “ARC Review | Hide and Seek by Jane Casey

Leave a Reply

