ARC Review | The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

23350025Title: The Accident Season
Author: Moïra Fowley-Doyle
Publication: August 18th 2015 by Kathy Dawson Books
Format: Advance Reading Copy
Source: Provided by the publisher via NetGalley
ISBN: 9780525429487

The Accident Season


synopsisEvery October Cara and her family become inexplicably and unavoidably accident-prone. Some years it’s bad, like the season when her father died, and some years it’s just a lot of cuts and scrapes. This accident season—when Cara, her ex-stepbrother, Sam, and her best friend, Bea, are 17—is going to be a bad one. But not for the reasons they think.
Cara is about to learn that not all the scars left by the accident season are physical: There’s a long-hidden family secret underneath the bumps and bruises. This is the year Cara will finally fall desperately in love, when she’ll start discovering the painful truth about the adults in her life, and when she’ll uncover the dark origins of the accident season—whether she’s ready or not.

reviewI received a digital ARC of this book from Penguin Young Readers Group via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. By no means have my review been affected and/or influenced.
The Accident Season is a book that is borderline realistic and magical. It isn’t the first time I’ve heard of the term Magical Realism but it is my first time to read a book in the genre.
October is the month where Cara’s family becomes accident prone. From small cuts to concussions, from near-death experiences to actual passing. This year is one of the worst, or so the cards say, according to Bea, Cara’s tarot reading friend. But the accident season isn’t the only thing that’s bothering Cara.
The Accident Season has some sort of a vibe that makes it dark and mysterious. While I was visualizing the scenes in the book, I can’t help but project them like a movie using a blue filter. I don’t know, but it has that effect on me. Well, the title alone gives off an eerie feel to it, the plot even.
It wasn’t difficult to get around this book in the beginning but it dragged a little bit towards the middle. There were also parts in the book where I felt like I was in a daze especially in the parts with Cara’s fantasy-like trance with the changelings and its symbolism but it’s unusual premise was so distinct that I somehow managed to get into it.
There were a lot of things going on aside from the accidents, there’s an unconventional romance, family issues, a mysterious disappearance, big secrets and big revelations.
The Accident Season redefined the word different when it comes to YA books.
Rating:

3h


whatiliked

  • Characters – If you are looking for a book with non-stereotypical characters, The Accident Season is the perfect find. I love the different traits and personalities each character has. They were very real to me that I really felt different feelings toward these characters. (I also really like the name, Bea. 😛 )
  • Romance – No spoilers. 😉 But yes, I liked the romance in this book even if it didn’t mainly focus on that. I was already expecting it and I just couldn’t help my appetite for romance. I was screaming “just kiss already!” in my head.
  • Unusual – If I haven’t said it enough, The Accident Season is a strange, whimsical, bizarre, diverse read. Although these words wouldn’t give justice to the book unless you read it yourself.

end
Book description and cover image from Goodreads

 

10 thoughts on “ARC Review | The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

    1. Hi Kelly! You should give this a try if you’re into Magical Realism. I wasn’t really expecting it to have some whimsical feel but if that’s your thing, you shouldn’t let this book pass notreading it! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading my review! I’m not sure if unconventional romance is your thing (don’t wanna spoil anything) but I kind of liked it so I hope it works for you too! 😀

      Like

  1. The romance you speak of is Sam and Cara rightttt??? My heart can’t take it! Kiss, children, kiss. does it mean he will be freed from the accident season then? Omg this book is too perfect I don’t want it to end but I also want to finish it lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

