ARC Review | Into The Dark by Caroline Patti

23213803Title: Into The Dark (Into The Dark #1)
Author: Caroline Patti
Publication: August 18th 2015 by Month9Books
Format: Advance Reading Copy
Source: Provided by the publisher via Kindle
ISBN: 9781942664031

Into The Dark


synopsisA girl’s sweet sixteen party is supposed to be among the most memorable events of her life. But on the night of hers, Mercy Clare wakes in the waiting room of a hospital with no memory of how she got there. To make matters worse, she’s wearing something she’d never be caught dead in: her best friend Lyla’s clothes.
Mercy’s nightmare is just beginning. The doctor arrives to tell her that it’s she who lies in the hospital bed waiting to die. A trip to the bathroom confirms Mercy’s fears, as Lyla’s face stares back at her and Lyla’s curvy figure pokes through her tight clothes.
But finding out what’s really going on won’t be easy. Because if Mercy wants her body back, it might just cost her Lyla’s life.

reviewI received a digital ARC of this book from Month9Books via Kindle in exchange for an honest review. By no means have my review been affected and/or influenced.
Before I dive into this book’s awesomeness, let us all first appreciate how beautiful Into The Dark‘s cover is. The cover alone made me want to have this pretty on my bookshelf. But aside from the cover, this book is beyond WOW.
Into The Dark opens with Mercy in the hospital waiting room with her best friend’s boyfriend, Jay. Something starts to feel strange around her, especially with Jay, who keeps calling her, Lyla, her best friend. Her world turns upside down when it’s a different person she see’s in the mirror’s reflection. How could she possibly be in someone else’s body? Particularly her best friend’s body?
The POV shifts to Gage’s where we learn that he knows that Mercy is inside Lyla’s body and why it happened. It is then revealed that Mercy is a Breacher, someone that has the ability to jump from one body to another and Gage is a hunter assigned to kill their kind. But things get complicated when he starts to feel something for the one he has to kill.
Into The Dark‘s plot was something I wasn’t expecting. I really had no idea what was in store for me when I requested for this book. To be honest, I was just curious about the idea of the main character being in someone else’s body and surprisingly, the story worked for me. It is action packed and quick paced which had me turning pages. It is also straightforward layered with plot twists that unravels in front of you. Although, the number of plot twists made the story take different turns, especially with revealing who the real enemy is.
Aside from the action, there’s also a hint of romance in Into The Dark which involves a love triangle that I don’t want to spoil.
The only thing in this book where I kind of felt off was with the number of killings. If I’d known that I’d encounter quite a lot of deaths, I should’ve started counting from the first casualty.
There were plot holes too, but they were so tiny I just let them pass. But, one thing that I wouldn’t let pass is the ending. I’m not sure if there is supposed to be a next book or it really just ended that way. Either way, it really left a lasting impression on me. But still, I still have a simple question that really needs an answer, what happens next?
Rating:

4


whatiliked

  • Dual POV – I really enjoyed reading in Mercy and Gage’s POV. Being able to read in the perspective of these two characters brought different feelings and emotions to me as a reader. I think it really worked with the story to show what’s going on inside the head of a breacher and a hunter. But reading in Gage’s POV was something else when it comes to the romance aspect of the book. *THIS IS A SPOILER* Highlight with cursor to view >> It was my first time to read in the perspective of the unrequited one. I was always used to reading in just the main character’s POV and/or the love interest but never the other guy. I was actually rooting for him but then the love story went into a different direction. My heart broke when Mercy fell for Nathaniel instead of him. *END OF SPOILER*
  • Pacing – Aside from the plot, the pacing of Into The Dark made this book a page turner. Ms. Patti made sure that the readers are engaged page after page. I also loved how each chapter wasn’t too long. Long chapters that circles around the same situation is one of my book bêtes noires and I’m glad that Into The Dark is the opposite of that. It’s straightforward and easy to read.

end
Book description and cover image from Goodreads
4 thoughts on “ARC Review | Into The Dark by Caroline Patti

  1. This book sounds incredible! The cover alone had me interested but reading the blurb I knew I needed to read this book! The body switching, the action, the fast pacing and a hint of romance really have me intrigued! I can’t wait to read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

