ARC Review | Awake by Natasha Preston

22881022Title: Awake
Author: Natasha Preston
Publication: August 4th 2015 by Sourcebooks Fire
Format: Advance Reading Copy
Source: Provided by the publisher via NetGalley
ISBN: 9781492618522

Awake


synopsisScarlett doesn’t remember anything before the age of five. Her parents say it’s from the trauma of seeing her house burn down, and she accepts the life they’ve created for her without question—until a car accident causes Scarlett to start remembering pieces of an unfamiliar past. When a new guy moves into town, Scarlett feels an instant spark. But Noah knows the truth of Scarlett’s past, and he’s determined to shield her from it…because Scarlett grew up in a cult called Eternal Light, controlled by her biological parents. And they want her back.

reviewI received a digital ARC of this book from Sourcebooks Fire via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. By no means have my review been affected and/or influenced.
When I first came across Awake, it appealed to me as something different. The mention of a cult wasn’t something common in YA worlds that it really got me curious. That was why I have quite some expectation in this book. I was looking for something new, something that will set it apart to other books.
The story starts off with Scarlett meeting Noah, the new kid at school. They easily engage in a casual conversation which leads to Scarlett telling something about herself not remembering anything before from when she was four years old. Noah seems interested about that fact but what she doesn’t know is that Noah knows something about it.
After a car accident, Scarlett starts to remember memories that happened in the past. She then starts to question everything including her identity. Is she really who she thought she is?
I’d have to say, I just find the story of Awake very simple and plain which isn’t a bad thing, but still, contradictory to what I was expecting. There were parts in the book that really dragged the story too long. At times, I felt like I was reading the same chapter over and over again and nothing was really going on. Nothing but these two love birds watching movies in Scarlett’s room.
Yes, this book has a serious case of insta-love. I still gave it a chance at first because there seems to be a motive behind it. But halfway through the book, we’re still caught up with Scarlett and Noah’s we-can’t-get-off-each-other-love-sickness that I just ended up turning the pages to see what happens next.
At about 60%, we finally get to be in Eternal Light’s environment. I don’t know but I really didn’t feel the dark vibe that would have been portrayed by Eternal Light. There was a lack of backstory to the cult that it didn’t become interesting at all. They just exist and they believe what they believe, but the “why they believe” is a big question unanswered.
Awake isn’t a bad book but it didn’t really leave any impression. But still, I recommend that you give this book a try.
Rating:

3


whatiliked

  • Dual POVs – The alternating perspective of Scarlett and Noah made the story-telling of this book easy to follow. I didn’t have a hard time reading through the story.
  • Unlikely Plot – It’s nothing I have read before. There were maybe some scenes that was predictable but it is still something new to me.
  • Mystery/Action – Although the story line was manifested with love bugs, I did enjoy the mystery aspect of it and the unraveling of the secrets kept. The action near the end was also something that was gripping about this book.

end
Book description and cover image from Goodreads

 

One thought on “ARC Review | Awake by Natasha Preston

  1. You wrote such a great review but it ultimately left me so disappointed in this book! The blurb sounded so good but to hear that A) the story is just so plain, B) there’s insta-love (yuck), C) the cult’s backstory is left unanswered and D) unnecessary chapters just dropped my excitement from an 8.5/10 to a 0. I think I’ll skip this one now unfortunately.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

