ARC Review | The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak

25266817 Title: The Heartbreakers
Author: Ali Novak
Publication: August 4th 2015 by Sourcebooks Fire
Format: Advance Reading Copy
Source: Provided by the publisher via NetGalley
ISBN: 9781492612568

The Heartbreakers


 

synopsis“When I met Oliver Perry, I had no clue he was the lead singer for The Heartbreakers. And he had no idea that I was the only girl in the world who hated his music.”
Stella will do anything for her sick sister, Cara—even stand in line for an autographed Heartbreakers CD…for four hours. She’s totally winning best birthday gift this year. At least she met a cute boy with soft brown hair and gorgeous blue eyes while getting her caffeine fix. Too bad she’ll never see him again.
Except, Stella’s life has suddenly turned into a cheesy love song. Because Starbucks Boy is Oliver Perry – lead singer for the Heartbreakers. And even after she calls his music crap, Oliver still gives Stella his phone number. And whispers quotes from her favorite Disney movie in her ear. OMG, what is her life?
But how can Stella even think about being with Oliver — dating and laughing and pulling pranks with the band — when her sister could be dying of cancer?

reviewI received a digital ARC of this book from Sourcebooks Fire via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. By no means have my review been affected and/or influenced.
If you’re into fan fiction and is looking for a quick and light read, The Heartbreakers could be the book for you. Though, I have to say this early that this book wasn’t my cup of tea.
Don’t get me wrong, I have a fangirl’s heart, and I have different fantasies and scenarios in my head that involves this Korean boy group and me. I read The Heartbreakers thinking that it will fuel my fangirl heart with feels and fantasy fulfillment but… it didn’t.
If you’ve read enough fan fiction, The Heartbreakers could be a little (?) predictable for you. Stella hates the Heartbreakers but her (triplet) sister, Cara, who suffers from cancer claims to be the biggest fan. Being the good sister, Stella plans to surprise Cara on their birthday with a signed CD from the Heartbreakers, tagging their brother along to go on a signing.
On a quick stop to Starbucks, Stella meets Oliver Perry, but she doesn’t have a clue that he is from the band the Heartbreakers, which intrigues Oliver realizing that she didn’t recognize him.
The Heartbreakers is unrealistic in a sense that made me feel doubtful instead of giving me hope that maybe, just maybe, it could happen. There were quite a few things in this book that didn’t work for me.
One of them is the romance between Stella and Oliver. I like books that make me swoon and I was expecting The Heartbreakers to make me feel like I’m on cloud 9 but IT. JUST. DIDN’T. Stella and Oliver’s relationship appealed as shallow. It was borderline insta-love with a mix of an annoying push-pull relationship. 밀당 (mildang), anyone?
Another thing is the dialogue. To me, there where moments where the characters’ lines lacked spontaneity. It was like I was watching a sitcom whereas the lines are over-rehearsed, or a reality show with obviously scripted dialogues. Not to mention the excessive cheesiness and witty banters that made my eyes roll more times I can count.
The childish characters (esp. the band members) could have been the reason to why I think the book’s conversations were a little senseless. Perhaps it was the author’s attempt to charm the readers with the band’s playfulness but do they really have to act and speak like everything is a joke 80% of the time?
I also didn’t like Stella’s sassy side. (I just have to mention that.)
Overall, the plot was decent, (a girl with a big decision to make & a boy group on the brink of a break up) but it wasn’t something I haven’t read before.
Rating:
2h

end
Book Description and Cover Image from Goodreads

 

10 thoughts on “ARC Review | The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak

  1. Haha I love the term mildang! I’ve watch Korean drama since I was 10 but this is the first I have heard of it.

    The premise looked promising, as I endorse wish fulfilment type books to a certain degree, but sorry to hear that the book turned into such shambles.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read the book, but judging from your review, I wonder if it was originally boyband fanfiction that’s been adapted to a novel? The synopsis does sound like every fanfiction.net synopsis ever… (Although the sister dying of cancer is a bit of a twist)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy this one but great review! Upon reading the blurb I thought well although it’s kinda cheesy it does sound like a light and fluffy read that I’d enjoy but then seeing your review it put me off the book completely. The insta-love, annoying characters and the unrealistic plot the book sets just made me want to run in the other direction.

    Like

Leave a Reply

