Author Interview | Amanda Panitch ft. Damage Done

19542831Author Amanda Panitch talks about the essentials of a good mystery read, mind blowing plot twists and her debut novel, Damage Done.

qnaWhat do you think are the basics of a good mystery read?
When I’m reading a mystery, I want to have to keep reading to find out what’s going to happen next. A great example of this is Jessica Warman’s The Last Good Day Of The Year, which I just finished – I couldn’t tear my eyes away from the page, even though I was exhausted and should have gone to sleep.
Have you always seen yourself writing books in the Mystery/Thriller genre?
No, Damage Done is actually the first thriller I’ve ever written. It was a lot of fun, though! I have a second thriller coming in 2016.
What other genres would you prefer writing?
Everything I’d written up until Damage Done was some level of fantasy, so I’d love to return to my roots and bring in some magic. I’m also interested in writing across age groups – I’d love to publish for middle grade and adult audiences at some point.
Have you always been a fan of stories with mind blowing plot twists just like your very own, Damage Done?
Absolutely. I love books like Gone Girl and We Were Liars, and the forthcoming Everything, Everything which has a plot twist that stunned me.
I’ve read in one of your tweets that you like writing dangerous girls, will we be seeing more of them in the future?
Yes, absolutely. The protagonist in my 2016 book Never Missing, Never Found is another girl with a dangerous side.
Lastly, what shall the readers expect in Damage Done?
A lot of twists, turns, and characters you’re not sure whether you should love or hate.

abouttheauthor

amandaAmanda Panitch is the author of DAMAGE DONE (coming July 21st 2015), which Melissa Marr called “exceedingly clever” and an “unforgettable read,” and NEVER MISSING, NEVER FOUND (2016) both from Random House Books for Young Readers. She grew up next to an amusement park in New Jersey, went to college next to the White House in Washington, D.C., and now resides in New York City, where she works in book publishing by day, writes by night, and lives under constant threat of being crushed beneath giant stacks of books.
www.amandapanitch.com
Twitter | Goodreads

1954283122 minutes separate Julia Vann’s before and after.

Before: Julia had a twin brother, a boyfriend, and a best friend.

After: She has a new identity, a new hometown, and memories of those twenty-two minutes that refuse to come into focus. At least, that’s what she tells the police.

Now that she’s Lucy Black, she’s able to begin again. She’s even getting used to the empty bedroom where her brother should be. And her fresh start has attracted the attention of one of the hottest guys in school, a boy who will do anything to protect her. But when someone much more dangerous also takes notice, Lucy’s forced to confront the dark secrets she thought were safely left behind.

One thing is clear: The damage done can never be erased. It’s only just beginning. . .

Damage Done

Purchase links for Damage Done:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indiebound 
For personalized copies:
Word Bookstores | McNally Jackson

Thanks for stopping by!

8 thoughts on “Author Interview | Amanda Panitch ft. Damage Done

  1. Great interview Beatrice! The book sounds very intriguing. I have not read mystery YA in recent memory but this one sounds great!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love YA mystery and this book sounds fantastic! I agree with Amanda that good mystery has to keep you guessing and also keeps you surprised when you come across those plot twists otherwise things can get boring very quickly. I can’t wait to read this and her new novel!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Really great interview! I just read your review of this book and seen therewas an author interview so I knew I had to read! I just mentioned on the review how i love mysteries that keep me guessing and so when the author mentioned it I knew this book would have many twists and turns that I won’t see coming YAY! And she’s got another thriller out this year so I’m also excited for that one!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

