ARC Review | The Escape by Hannah Jayne

24857263 Title: The Escape
Author: Hannah Jayne
Publication: July 7th 2015 by Sourcebooks Fire
Format: Advance Reading Copy
Source: Provided by the publisher via NetGalley
ISBN: 9781492616542

The Escape


 

synopsisWhen two boys walk into the woods, and one comes out covered in blood, what would you believe?
Fletcher and Adam venture into the woods for an afternoon hike, but when day turns into night and neither boy returns, their town is thrown into turmoil. Avery, the detective’s daughter, is the one to find Fletcher—dishelved, disoriented, and covered in blood. He has no memory of what happened, but Avery can’t shake the feeling that something’s off. When Adam’s body is finally found, Avery is determined to uncover the truth. But if she stands by her gut, and Fletcher, is she standing by a friend, or a murderer? The answer might cost her her life.

reviewI received a Digital ARC of this book from Sourcebooks Fire in exchange for an honest review. By no means have my review been affected and/or influenced.
I can’t say that I’ve read enough Mystery/Thriller books but the premise of these stories are starting to get very common.
The Escape is set in small town where nothing bad ever happens but suddenly disturbed by a mysterious crime. And there is one witness/survivor that suffers from a traumatic amnesia which makes his memory the key to the mystery. In simpler words, we just have to keep turning the page until his memory comes back (if it ever comes back) and the mystery is solved.
Adam and Fletcher are unlikely to be friends. Adam is the golden boy, Fletcher is the weird one. One afternoon, they decided to go on a hike in the woods but they never returned.
Avery is the police chief’s daughter, she is also a part of the search team for the missing teenagers. In their search in the woods, she finds a badly beaten and bloody Fletcher. Few days after, Adam’s body is discovered.
The big question is what happened in the woods? Who killed Adam and left Fletcher for dead?
Some characters were made to look suspicious but I really didn’t buy it because they appear to be a little too obvious. It’s like they’re wearing a note on their forehead saying, “I’m a booby trap! Please avoid!”. These characters I’m talking about are disguised to make you suspect them but you can tell it’s just a bait.
The clues were obvious too. When I saw it, the mystery (quite) solved itself. (It’s on page 134, don’t look it up!) But I still had to carry on reading. Don’t we all have the need to know what actually happened? Or at least prove our suspicions?  I was still bracing myself, gripping my book tightly. Oh wait, I was reading on desktop so I didn’t actually do that. still wanting my questions to be answered. Although, some of the scenes were predictable. Like the Avery-Fletcher love-or-whatever thing they have. Or when *spoiler* Fletcher asked Avery to go with him into the woods, you already know something is about to happen.
Let’s skip to the ending before I spoil everything.
Yes, let’s talk about the ending. The ending… was very anticlimatic. It felt too rushed and really didn’t work for me. After waiting too long for the roller coaster to reach the highest point before the big drop, it just fell flat. Or maybe it’s just the fact I can’t accept how things ended up.
But I do hope you guys would give The Escape a try, especially those who are into Mystery/Thriller reads.
Rating:

3


whatiliked

  • Magnetic – The culprit is right in front of you, the book spelled it out already but somehow, you choose to overlook that fact. You deny yourself of everything until you finish the book, it won’t let you put it down until you turn to the very last page.
  • 3rd Person Narration – I’m a 1st person type of reader. For me, they’re easier to read and they’re more engaging. I also like being inside the head of a character but with The Escape, you’re not rid of that. The narration and the alternating POVs between Avery and Fletcher added more mystery to the story. I admit, from the very first page, I’m already hooked. See, I told you it’s magnetic.
  • Guessing game – Every mystery book has it and when you decide to play, it’s either you end up right or wrong. With this book, I really didn’t have a solid guess so I kind of lost in that game. And of course, the book wins.

end
Book Description and Cover Image from Goodreads

 

2 thoughts on “ARC Review | The Escape by Hannah Jayne

  1. Great review but how disappointing is it to read about a mystery lacking in the mystery department? When I pick up a mystery I’m expecting or rather hoping that it will be good. Full of twists and turns, unpredictability, a huge plot twist to make me go WTF and never see it coming, layered,and realistic characters, and pretty much a book that will have me guessing until the end so when I read your review I was very disappointed this book is exactly the opposite of that. I think I’ll give this one a miss unfortunately.

    Like

Leave a Reply

