ARC Review | You and Me and Him by Kris Dinnison

9780544301122_hresTitle: You and Me and Him
Author: Kris Dinnison
Publication: July 7th 2015 by HMH Books for Young Readers
Format: Advance Reading Copy
Source: Provided by the publisher via NetGalley
ISBN: 9780544301122

After the End (After the End #1)


synopsisBetween the two of us, Nash and I have had more unreciprocated crushes than Cedar Ridge has stoplights.
Maggie and Nash are outsiders: She’s overweight. He’s out of the closet. They’re best friends, and they’ve helped each other survive their small-minded small town. But when Tom moves to Cedar Ridge at the start of the school year they have something unexpected in common—feelings for the same guy. As emotions take hold, Maggie and Nash’s friendship is put to the ultimate test . . . Up until now they have always chosen each other, but what if winning someone’s heart means losing your soul mate?

reviewI received a Digital ARC of this book from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt in exchange for an honest review. By no means have my review been affected and/or influenced.
What happens when best friends fall for the same guy?
You might think that the book is mainly circling on that question but it’s more than just that. You and Me and Him is an adorable coming of age story about friendship, trust and acceptance.
Maggie is overweight and Nash is gay. They’ve been best friends ever since and both have a common taste for almost everything – including boys. Nash first spotted Tom in the school bus and asks Maggie to check him out, having the same taste for guys, both called “dibs” on the new guy but Maggie waives and lets Nash crush on him.
Nash gets on a roll to befriend Tom and of course, drags Maggie along. Tom is a quite the charmer and is overly friendly to everyone. I admit that even I, was smitten by Tom. No wonder Maggie and Nash likes him.
Contrarily, Maggie gets to hang out more with Tom than Nash. She can’t ignore the fact that she’s developing feelings for Tom but she doesn’t let it get to her, considering Nash’s feelings and also because she thinks she doesn’t stand a chance with Tom because of her weight.
The emotions I felt while reading this book were very real. I felt for Maggie the most, especially with her struggles. There were heartwarming scenes and moments that just made me want to be with her side but there are also times that I wanted to yell at her. It’s impossible not to feel different emotions when you read this book. And, it’s very honest.
You and Me and Him is a promising read you surely would not want to miss.
Rating:

4h


whatiliked

  • The Characters – I was fortunate enough to have Ms. Kris Dinnison answer some questions for me about her book and one of them is about writing these characters that were defined as outsiders (read full interview here). Even if you haven’t read the book yet, the description gives everyone the idea of what “type” of characters the book represents; one is overweight and one is gay. That alone, made me want to read this book but it is the portrayal that really fascinated me. Ms. Dinnison didn’t want her characters to be a type, her characters have individuality. Maggie isn’t just the fat girl who struggles with her body image, she’s also Maggie who loves to bake, Maggie the good friend and Maggie who loves listening to Billie Holiday. I also like the minor characters of Quinn and CeCe. AND the parents actually exist in the story!
  • The Cover – Almost everything about this book is not your typical YA, including the cover. It’s simple and straight-forward. I think it really suits the story. I’d love to get my hands on a finished copy of this book!
  • Writing style – I love books that are easy to read and isn’t manifested by purple prose. Maggie’s narration is very smooth and engaging that it didn’t take long for me to finish reading the book. You and Me and Him is Kris Dinnison’s debut novel and I’m surely looking forward to her future works.

end
Book Description and Cover Image from Goodreads

 

5 thoughts on “ARC Review | You and Me and Him by Kris Dinnison

    1. Thanks for stopping by! I’d have to say that the relationships in the romantic aspect of this book may be a little YA but I just finished reading the 2nd book and it’s very different from this and I liked it even more! Can’t wait for you to read both books 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great review Beatrice! Everything about this book has me eager to read it! The cover is simple yet effective and captured my attention with its bright colours, the mention of the amazing characters and them not just being a ‘type’ that people can identify them by has me super happy and of course the story sounds amazing! I love true friendship stories and I can’t wait to read about Nash and Maggie’s!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

