Book Review | Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

8580362Title: Forbidden
Author: Tabitha Suzuma
Publication: June 26th 2012 by Simon Pulse (first published May 27th 2010)
Format: Finished copy/Paperback
Source: Purchased from Powerbooks
ISBN: 9781442419964

Forbidden


synopsisSeventeen-year-old Lochan and sixteen-year-old Maya have always felt more like friends than siblings. Together they have stepped in for their alcoholic, wayward mother to take care of their three younger siblings. As de facto parents to the little ones, Lochan and Maya have had to grow up fast. And the stress of their lives—and the way they understand each other so completely—has also brought them closer than two siblings would ordinarily be. So close, in fact, that they have fallen in love. Their clandestine romance quickly blooms into deep, desperate love. They know their relationship is wrong and cannot possibly continue. And yet, they cannot stop what feels so incredibly right.

reviewThere was quite a buzz about the story of Forbidden and I’ve been hearing nothing but how exceptional it is. That was why I wanted to see it for myself and know what is so unique about it.
A lot of people actually described this book as something that will break your heart. Yes, it is indeed heartbreaking but I think it’s beyond that. To be honest, it took me a while to write this review because I can’t seem to comprehend how something can be heartbreaking yet so beautiful at the same time. I think it is just indescribable, its beauty is beyond words. People would have to read it for themselves to appreciate such gem.
Anyhow, Forbidden got me thinking a lot about they’re situation because it’s something I don’t see myself in approval of in reality but I just found myself rooting for Maya and Lochan’s love story. It’s a wonder how Tabitha made me put an exception on these characters.
It is also amazing that even if the book is about forbidden love, it doesn’t just focus on that element but also addressed the matter of being in a dysfunctional family. Lochan and Maya struggled to keep their family together. Neglected by their alcoholic mother after their father left for another family, they took the role of their parents and took care of their 3 siblings. The portrayal of their family is really compelling.
There were a lot of questions that this book left, questions like am I not disturbed by Lochan and Maya’s feelings for each other? Or if they were real people, would I still be wanting them to be together? Will I also be asking why is it not allowed? The emotions in this book are very real that it left me thinking beyond the book and took me further into the reality of Lochan and Maya’s situation.
Rating:

5stars


whatiliked

  • Everything – Except the barbed wire on the cover.
  • Gave us hope – Lochan and Maya hoped for freedom, freedom to love and from everything that hinders it. I was with them on that part. I hoped for the possibility of a happy ending.

end
Book Description and Cover Image from Goodreads

 

9 thoughts on “Book Review | Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

  1. I read this book awhile back and somehow kind of found myself having a hard time writing a review due to the controversial theme. I didn’t want to sound like I was condoning incestuous relationships.

    But back to your review. In regards to Maya’s and Lochan’s relationship I found myself rooting for them in a way, but I guess it has to do with the way they were written. Delving into their minds, you felt for them as characters and that’s where I would praise Tabitha’s writing. In addition the fact that neither really wants to feel that way about each other. That to me is so heartbreaking…I guess you can’t help the way you feel regardless, how wrong it may look to society. I also cried at the end, but I think it was the best way to end the book. I could never really see a different ending for both of them. :/ Good review! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You must read it!!! I was really intrigued about this one bc like you, I only kept hearing praises for this book (and how heartbreaking it is) and it didn’t disappoint! Hope you enjoy this one too!

      Like

  2. Reading the beginning of the synopsis of the book I was really intrigued but then it got to the siblings having feelings for each other and I was like Woooah wait… WHAT?! Yeahhh no I can’t read a book with incest but I’m glad you enjoyed. I have to admit I’m a little surprised with the amount of people who seem to be rooting for their relationship though I guess I’d have to read it to really understand.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maybe it’s because people don’t see themselves rooting for an incestuous relationship (speaking for myself right here) in real life and knowing that this is only a work of fiction gave some sort of liberty to the readers. And being put to the perspective of these 2 characters was something intriguing and quite an experience as well. It’s worth reading for that alone, and many other things.

      Like

Leave a Reply

