Book Review | Don’t Look back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

18296030Title: Don’t Look Back
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publication: March 17th 2015 by Disney-Hyperion (first published April 10th 2014)
Format: Finished copy/Paperback
Source: Purchased from National Book Store
ISBN: 9781423194668

Don't Look Back


synopsisSamantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend.
Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it’s one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took “mean girl” to a whole new level, and it’s clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She’s getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she’s falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash.
But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night aren’t just buried deep inside of Sam’s memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?

reviewThe story begins with Samantha having no memory of who she is and what happened to her. Yes, she has amnesia and it surely played a big part in the story because it is basically the key to the whole book’s mystery.
At first, I thought I was the brightest person on Earth after figuring out that my suspicion about who did what was actually correct. It turns out it really wasn’t that hard to solve based on other reviews I’ve seen. I can say that the hints thrown in were pretty much a giveaway. 20% – 30% of the book, I already figured out who did what. But nonetheless, I enjoyed reading it. Don’t Look Back didn’t keep me guessing that much but it surely made me turn pages (maybe to prove myself that I’m right with my suspicions 😄 ). It will make you have a “just one more chapter” moment. So I advice you not to start reading this during bedtime. (And because there are scenes that really crept me out especially at night.)
It was also interesting to be inside Samantha’s thoughts. We see bits of her previous memories during her “gray” moments that tells us more about Samantha but will leave us reckoning if it’s just a hallucination or it really happened.
Overall, Don’t Look Back is a mystery/thriller read that you’d want to get your hands on. It will keep you curious until the end. Like, literally.
Rating:

4h


whatiliked

  • Clues everywhere – What I love about some mystery books is that I can try and solve the existing mystery along (sometimes ahead) with the character. And with Don’t Look Back, the clues are just everywhere! Most of the time, these clues are sometimes ignored by the characters and it’s up to you if you’ll pick them up or just leave them behind. Would you like me to name a few?
  • The voice – I didn’t have a hard time reading this book because of Samantha’s voice. It is straightforward, even though most of her dialogue ends with a question mark (amnesia, duh.) and she seems confused, the prose is written in a way where readers can easily connect with Samantha.
  • Carson – Our brooding YA hero. He can be bad at times but he can be nice too. By the way that Samantha described him, he is definitely a guy that I would want for myself. (Even Samantha keeps telling herself how she’s been so blind to pass up on a guy like Carson). Perfect YA guys are a pet peeve of mine and I’m glad that Carson isn’t one of them!
  • Scott – Samantha’s adorkable twin brother. (I’ve been using the word adorkable a lot more often lately 😛 ) He’s a favorite character of mine. Probably the best brother in the fictional world. I also love his and Carson’s tandem.

end
Book Description and Cover Image from Goodreads
4 thoughts on “Book Review | Don’t Look back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

      1. I definitely recommend her other series, (like the Lux and The Dark Elements) if you’re into fantasy and paranormal books. I heard her Wait for You contemporary romance series is also quite good, although I personally haven’t read it yet. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

