Book Review | After the End by Amy Plum

13601681Title: After The End (After the End #1)
Author: Amy Plum
Publication: May 20th 2014 by Harper Teen (first published May 6th 2014)
Format: Finished copy/Paperback
Source: Purchased from Fully Booked
ISBN: 9780062225610

After the End (After the End #1)


 

synopsisShe’s searching for answers to her past. They’re hunting her to save their future.
World War III has left the world ravaged by nuclear radiation. A lucky few escaped to the Alaskan wilderness. They’ve survived for the last thirty years by living off the land, being one with nature, and hiding from whoever else might still be out there. At least, this is what Juneau has been told her entire life.
When Juneau returns from a hunting trip to discover that everyone in her clan has vanished, she sets off to find them. Leaving the boundaries of their land for the very first time, she learns something horrifying: There never was a war. Cities were never destroyed. The world is intact. Everything was a lie.
Now Juneau is adrift in a modern-day world she never knew existed. But while she’s trying to find a way to rescue her friends and family, someone else is looking for her. Someone who knows the extraordinary truth about the secrets of her past.

reviewInteresting title? Check! Curiosity-sparking back cover description? Check! Thralling plot? Check!
To be honest, I can’t remember when or where I came across After the End but I remember how it got me all curious about it after reading the synopsis. I’m a YA contemporary type of reader (is there such a type?) but this book had me stepping outside my reading comfort zone and I’m so glad I did.
The book starts with Juneau who is raised to believe that she and her clan are survivors of World War III and life outside the Alaskan wilderness is nothing but radioactive wasteland. Then we switch to a different POV with Miles where we get a glimpse of the other side which tells us early on that there really is no World War III.
There are so many things to unravel in this story like how Juneau and Miles are related and why is Juneau’s clan living in the wilderness and a lot more that will keep you turning each page looking for answers. This fast-paced book is a must read for lovers of action, fantasy and romance. (or pretty much everyone who reads.)
Rating:
5stars

whatiliked

  • The Names – I remember asking my friend how to pronounce Juneau, and she answered, “Ju-nu or Ju-know, I’m not sure but that’s the capital of Alaska.” I didn’t know that before, that Juneau is the capital of Alaska, and yes, how Juneau is pronounced. But it’s not about the name Juneau being difficult to pronounce but how some characters are named after a place, particularly in Alaska and it was not just Juneau. In the book you’ll see characters named after cities in Alaska like Nikiski, Cordova, Kenai, Wasilla and so on. I love how it is connected with the story line. At first, you might think that the Author just randomly picked places in Alaska and named the characters after them but as you continue reading, you will realize what the relevance is.
  • Surprise “fantasy” element – In the first parts of the book, you might find it confusing about how Juneau has some sort of “magic-like” ability and how she talks about this “Yara” but you’ll get around it easily in Juneau’s POV. (And I won’t tell you much about it because I want you to go find out yourself 😉 )
  • Cliffhanger – Who am I kidding? Who loves cliffhangers?? I do! Why? Because there is a sequel which is out today (May 5th)! Until the Beginning is the final book of the duology and I honestly can’t wait to get my hands on a copy!

end

 

 

 

Book Description and Cover Image from Goodreads

 

5 thoughts on “Book Review | After the End by Amy Plum

  1. OMG that blurb has me like woooaaahhh!!! Like you I’m more of a contemporary girl myself but this book has got me extremely intrigued! I’m curious, confused, excited, and oh so anxious to read this! The whole made up WWIII is super interesting and the mystery of the clan and how they disappeared sounds interesting. Also shout out to the weirdly cool names as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YESSSS! I love this book. Please read it. HAHA. I haven’t read book 2, still bc I’ve been waiting for the paperback ed to come out. Been patiently waiting for a year now!

      Like

Leave a Reply

