Book Review | Only A Kiss by Ines Bautista-Yao

23705867Title: Only A Kiss
Author: Ines Bautista-Yao
Publication: November 29th 2014 by Chamber Shell Publishing
Format: Finished copy/Paperback
Source: Purchased from Fully Booked
ISBN:9781938463440

Only A Kiss


synopsisWhen she was nine-years-old, Katie knew she wanted Chris to give her her first kiss. It wasn’t because she was in love with him (no way, he was her best friend! Besides, she was in love with his fourteen-year-old big brother), it was because she could make him do anything she wanted.
Besides, it didn’t really mean anything. It was only a kiss after all.
But then things started to change. They grew up. They parted ways and went to different high schools. And other girls and boys—well, just one particular boy—came into the picture, throwing their lives upside down.
Told from the alternating points of view of Katie and Chris, this love story between two best friends will tug at your heartstrings and leave you thinking how the simplest things can mean so much.

reviewI’m a big fan of best friends-turned-lovers stories so when I read a brief summary of Only A Kiss, I told myself that I have to read this. Also, knowing that the author of this book is Filipino is another factor that has triggered my interest for this book.
The book has only 5 chapters that tell of Katie and Chris’s situation. From 9 year old kids, to high school studs, then college grads to young adults. You would totally anticipate what’s next as each chapter ends. What happened in between the chapters, though are briefly outlined as new chapters unfold. The pace have such big jumps that you don’t have time to get attached to the characters. One moment they’re just kids playing Speed then next thing you know, they’re already teens experimenting on “love”. Okay, okay, I did have a soft spot for Chris. Especially how he just kept his feelings inside. But they didn’t have a lasting effect on me. I also find Katie a bit controlling and bossy.
The characters are so real and everything else in it. Sure, they don’t have an extraordinary love story but not everything grand is precious. It’s simple but well cherished.
For fans of Love, Rosie (Where Rainbows End) and all that best friend stories, Only a Kiss is a must-read. It’s a light and quick read that will take you on a roller coaster ride of emotions.
And! Please support Filipino Authors! ❤
Rating:

3h


whatiliked

  • The Cover – I’m a sucker for pretty book covers and this is definitely one example of that. Scenario: I was casually scrolling through one blog when I came across a book review of Only a Kiss, then I just stopped. Look at that beauty. And that was the beginning of my curiosity. You see? I think when they say packaging is everything, book covers are included in that too. I love the artsy feel of it, like a watercolor typography(?) which I see a lot lately with this paper cut art for the title. The combination is very appealing. It’s cute, just like the story.
  • The way it ended – It started with a kiss and it ended the way it started. You can’t turn back time to experience one special moment all-over again but you can certainly create a new one and make it even more memorable, more special and significant. ❤
  • Trial and Error  – I don’t think trial and error is the appropriate term to describe Katie’s relationship with Andrew and Chris’s relationship with Celine and… a bunch of other girls. But, there were times in their respective relationships where everything just seems so right and perfect but when it’s put to a test they realize it’s doesn’t seem right after all. It’s realistic in a sense that they are just like ordinary people and not fictional characters. They make mistakes, a bit annoying at times, and does not see the things that are right under their noses, aren’t we all like that sometimes?

end

 

 

 

 

Book Description and Cover Image from Goodreads

 

Advertisements

One thought on “Book Review | Only A Kiss by Ines Bautista-Yao

  1. I’m a big fan of friends turn to lovers if done right and I also loved Loved, Rosie so this one definitely intrigues me. The cover alone is just gorgeous as well it’s hard to overlook! The characters don’t seem picture perfect either which is good I love some realistic characters in books as t just makes the story more authentic. I’m glad to have found out about this book and hope to enjoy it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s